Failure

You never go into marriage with the thought of failure. Marriage is a hard road for even the most loving couples in the best of circumstances so imagine what it must be like to be married to someone who is in prison. This has been the hardest experience of my life and at the moment I feel like a complete failure. I bought into the idea of hey he is in prison and should be grateful someone wants to marry him. That is an extremely funky attitude to have towards your husband regardless of his situation. This attitude has cost us precious amounts of time and futility. We have argued and fought and talked and discussed how my attitude and what I think and say and do affects him and ultimately affects us. I’ve tried to be a good wife…to make sure he is taken care of and happy but at the end of the day I have failed him miserably. He is unhappy and does not feel like he wants to be married to me anymore. I’m heartbroken to say the least. I never imagined 6 months in and we would be calling it quits. Everyone says maybe this is a blessing in disguise but my heart does not want to hear that at the moment. I want my husband back. My sweet kind loving husband.

Leave a Reply

